WAITING TO RISE

CONFESSIONS OF A BOTTOM DWELLER

Five Minute Friday: Risk

So, in order to stretch my writing muscles, I’ve decided to challenge myself.  Its the only way we learn and grow, right?  So, I chose to begin the Five Minute Friday link up with Lisa-Jo Baker.  The deal is very simple:  We get a word.  We write.  5 minutes.  Nothing more, nothing less.  No stopping.  

I need this exercise because I want to express myself.  Real.  Raw.  Without editing and trying to “perfect” everything.  Fix my perceived flaws.  Make my posts all nice and positive and pretty.  But, I gotta tell you…my brain has doesn’t always feel like being pretty.  Its tired of being caged up.  My emotions want to come out.  I feel like I am a ping pong bal..up one day, down the nextl.  You never know where my brain will go.  So, be warned =)…..

Here goes:

Today’s word:  RISK

GO!

There are many things we do in life that constitutes risk.  Taking that new job.  Buying that new house.  Talking to that guy we are interested in.  Everything involves risk.  Risk of rejection.  Risk of failing.  Risk of actually succeeding.  

Today, as I write this, I am trying to take those risks.  In fact, I’m seriously considering a huge risk in my life.  Something that could leave me just quaking like crazy in my boots.  

But, its more scary not to change sometimes.  Risk means taking the jump.  My favorite country artist, Miranda Lambert, has a song with the words, “I guess if you don’t jump you’ll never know if you can fly.”  Well, I need to jump.  To fly.  Or to at least see.  

With risk comes paralysis.  I am paralyzed to change and yet I know I need to.  I am scared to reach out for a hand that will save me.  I’m so used to saving myself…but to be honest, that hasn’t worked out so well.  My heart has been broken.  abused.  left to bleed dry.  And I am taking a risk to say I need help.  I am hurting.  I need prayer.  I need Jesus to help me find healing and wholeness in my life.  I am breaking family tradition.  I am bucking the trend that has been set before me.  I am going to be rejected.  And I don’t care.  I am taking this risk.  Risk makes me feel courageous….like a total rebel.  And also alive.  Kinda like I posted on Wednesday…I am shaking but am alive.  

Risk needs to be taken to prompt us to grow and to teach us to lean on our Lord for comfort.  

STOP

 

So, as I hit publish, I’d like to go back and edit.  But, its all part of living.  Breathing.  Experiencing.  I must do this…for me to be alive.  I’ve been “dead” inside for so long…I’ve got to let it out.  

Have a great weekend ya’ll (guess you can tell I’m from the South huh?).  

 

Isaiah 43:19 (amp)–

Behold, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs forth; do you not perceive and know it andwill you not give heed to it? I will even make a way in the wilderness and rivers in the desert.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Risk

  1. c4faith on said:

    I can identify with some of your thoughts on risk. It is scary, but you’re right that sometimes it’s scary *not* to change. Good, honest five minutes!

  2. Amazing! so refreshing to let it out – and so nice to read – there is so much risk to letting go and trusting – not having the control. But the reward is so worth it! I’m going to puruse your blog for a bit – I’m interested in your story! Can’t wait to hear more

    Marissa @ forfunreadinglist.blogspot.com

    • Thanks for stopping by! What would you like to know about me? I’m kind of an open book…if we were sitting down for coffee/tea/soda, what would you want to ask? Looking forward to interacting again soon! B

Leave a Reply

